Best jambalaya I’ve ever eaten and I made it! Tell us your goals and taste preferences, and we'll scour our database of over 2 million recipes to find recipes just for you. Enjoy! It’s definitely going to make it in my “cookbook” for future ideas to make for dinner. If you prefer a looser rice dish, simply stir through some more hot stock at the end of cooking. I know Paprika and Hot Sauce can be overpowering so I only used half of what the recipe called for.

(Nutrition information is calculated using an ingredient database and should be considered an estimate. Hi! Subscribe for email updates and receive a free copy of my veggie burger e-book! I’m new to IP and don’t quite know how to convert recipes yet. I’m only one person. The slow cooker aspect of this recipe makes it nice for a couple of reasons. Very little work for so much food. Once I had the idea for the sausage, the jambalaya seemed like the obvious next step. Thanks, Coming soon! Would it work with black rice instead of brown? Updated on December 23, 2016 to include stove top cooking method. Make up a batch of this slow-cooked ratatouille and freeze for easy midweek meals when you’re busy. I did make some changes for more soupy/stewy consistency… other changes for personal taste included adding a chopped hot pepper instead of hot sauce, water instead of broth and mixtrue of basmati white rice and quinoa (about 1 cup total instead of 2 cups). you’re a genius! Thank you so much! Portobello mushrooms give the stew a hearty flavour and lentils provide a delicious source of protein, whilst Marmite will add a deep richness to the stew. However, I found the rice to be gummy/clumpy rather than fluffy/individual rice grains. Got leftovers?

More like an hour & 15 minutes, and the rice is still hard. I’m happy to hear it was a hit. I would not have minded more heat. It was oddly bland despite all the spices and needed a lot of salt afterwards.