The whole pod may be used to flavor foods during cooking. Read our disclosure here. I’ve been making my own vanilla extract for a few years now; it’s dead easy and fool-proof. I wait 10-12 weeks to get a rich extraction. If you’re trying to avoid processed foods, skip the vanilla flavoring and stick with an additive-free vanilla extract. Does the higher price tag equal a better product?

The FDA’s labeling law states that the flavoring is “100% pure” if the only source of that particular flavor is the vanilla. The grade of the bean is not indicative of the flavor, however. When you buy a natural vanilla extract, you’re getting a completely different product than when you buy vanilla flavoring. Want to reuse the pods after making extract?

Cost Breakdown Your IP: 178.32.73.1 In fact, vanilla flavoring isn’t made from the vanilla pod at all. This post may contain affiliate links. Simply Organic Madagascar Vanilla Beans 2 beans. Grade “A” vanilla beans are softer, more supple, and have a higher moisture content. Under USDA rules, in order for a seller to sell or label vanilla beans as "Certified Organic", their supplier must be certified by a USDA Certifier and belong to the National Organic Program (NOP). (Cut pods into shorter lengths, if needed.). Vanilla extract’s price may also be affected by the bean’s origin (Papua New Guinea, Indonesia, Uganda, Madagascar, etc.) Contains the flavorful seeds inside a tough pod. If you’d like to buy an organic vanilla extract, there are plenty of good options available. All content on this site is created by Jenny and her helpers and it's illegal to steal it! Flavor continues to develop and intensify over time.