Tell us a little about yourself (Where are you from? Eventually I got a call for the position I wanted with a great company close to where I live!

And, of course, be at least in the top-quarter of your class. There are a huge number of bachelor's degrees, and any one of them will be suitable for law school. The Southern District (New York City) of New York may have over 300 AUSAs; the Northern District of Florida has approximately 40.

Becoming an AUSA in any office is a longterm objective -- targeting the most popular office in the country is just a fool's errand that ignores how much it comes down to luck and knowing someone important. Jobs in a prosecutor’s office are limited, coveted, and highly competitive. ZipRecruiter got me my first real job after I graduated from college. Some offices may have 200 applications for one slot, others may have close to 1,000. Am I the only one? As a criminal division AUSA, I assisted federal law enforcement agencies (FBI, DEA, ATF, ICE, Secret Service, U.S. Equally problematic is the fact that the charging and plea bargaining decisions are made behind closed doors, and prosecutors are not required to justify or explain these decisions to anyone. You can’t –.